my typical weekday

You wouldn’t believe how busy the past two weeks have been for me. I’ve been so shagged out. and it’s not even the type that consists of ANY form of sexual activity.

This is the routine for a typical day in my life recently:

10am – Noon: Joshua wakes me up for his first feed of the day with his yelling that sounds like “mamaaaaaa, mamaaaaaa”. I swear it does.

[Ed: I know most people get up way earlier than me, but unless their field of work includes plenty of physical activity, let’s not pull comparisons. I could, and had formerly, retained my energy levels much better sitting in an air-conditioned office for 10 hours a day.]

Noon – 1.30pm: This is Joshua’s usual cartoon time, and the time I take to check mails, blog and RSS subscriptions. If I’m lucky, I get to spend some time chatting with friends via MSN too.

On rainy days and/or when Josh is really tired, he naps during this time.

1.30pm – 2.30pm: Lunch time for the boy.

2.30pm – 3.00pm: Some cartoons while he digests his food, and more Internet time for me.

3.00pm – 5.00pm: Joshua’s nap time. I often sneak out downstairs during this period of time to buy lunch for myself and run other domestic errands.

5.00pm – 5.30pm: Milk time / Post-nap cuddle time.

5.30pm – 8.30pm: This is the busiest part of my day, where I play with him, revise baby signing, do baby exercises with him, make his dinner (and sometimes ours too) and bathe him. Usually after this block of time, my back starts to ache.

8.30pm – 10.00pm: Hubs is usually home by this time, and he takes over Boy by playing/chatting with him. I clean up after dinner, then spend some time at the laptop.

10.00pm – 11.00pm: Boy has his last feed of the day, and goes to bed promptly after that.

11.00pm onwards: End of mothering duties, and start of continuous personal/couple time! :mrgreen:

— — — —

Throughout the day, I also simultaneously complete chores like laundry, cleaning the floor, washing up sinks, etc. Not forgetting the diaper changes. And making calls for random purposes other than idle chat. You’d be surprised at the number of calls I make/receive daily excluding the ones with Hubs.

A female classmate I met in school recently rebuked me with a stupid and insensitive comment when I told her I had no time to complete my assignment. She said, “But you’re at home everyday! You don’t have to work like us, where got no time to finish project?!”

I could only give her a wry smile and silently applaud her utter cluelessness to what being a SAHM entails. I guess one day she will find out for herself, IF she manages to get married and sperminated, that is. 😈

Now, any non-mothers reading this who are still keen on being a SAHM?? snigger

2 thoughts on “my typical weekday

  1. Dun blame her lah… I don’t think she’s being deliberately insensitive. Many people do not know the work-intensiveness of a SAHM. Hell, even working mothers may not know how hard it is at times. And of course, the grass is always greener and easier on the other side. 🙂

    shell says: Sorry lah, but I simply cannot overlook her stupidity. Especially when she is much older than me.

  2. Hey, last time when I was a SAHM, I was DEAD tired by evening that I hardly washed up (dishes etc etc) after that…I was probably dead to the world by 11pm (though had to wake up a few times in the night lah)…Very difficult for you unless you have some sort of help for like 2 hours a day and you can do your assignments outside the home….if you can still hear Joshua’s cute voice, even in different rooms, you cannot concentrate one lah!

Leave a Reply

