disciplining the boy

I am literally fuming mad.

The boy kept swinging his arms around while I was trying to feed him, and despite numerous warnings from the frustrated mother, he continued to misbehave. Finally, he toppled the dish of applesauce all over himself and won himself a time-out. Congrats.

I gave him 170ml of milk (to replace the lunch) and sent him off to bed, to reflect on his poor behaviour.

Of course, right before I left him in his room, I gave him a dressing-down. I try not to yell at him, because more often than not, it backfires with him trying to smile his way out of it.

Usually if I yell at him and send him to bed, he yells back at me once I step out of his room. Today, I firmly told him that I am very disappointed with his behaviour, because I know he can be a good boy, but he refuses to. And that I am going to ignore him because I am very very mad at him. I told him to think about how he had been behaving, and I closed his bedroom door after me.

He didn’t make a peep. And I think he understands that he had just gotten himself into hot soup.

::

Some people feel that we are too strict with Joshua, but what they don’t realise is that he sometimes deliberately misbehaves because he finds it funny, or because he knows he can get away with it scot-free.

Discipline starts from young, but the definition of “young” varies from parent to parent. For us, it starts in the womb. (Like letting the foetus know that kicking mommy at 4am is wrong.) Though we’d like to believe that we’re not rigid, since we give reasonable leeway for days when he is unwell (which is really quite rare) or when he is just having a bad day. Yes, a baby can also have bad days. *cue Daniel Powter’s hit single*

Other than that, Joshua is expected to be on his best behaviour, and we won’t settle for anything less. It’s to cultivate a good habit in him, and also in us, because too often parents mollycoddle their babies and find it difficult to discipline them even after they become toddlers capable of following instructions.

Call me a bad mommy, but this is the way it is going to be forever and ever. You can have the power of freewill, but don’t expect to be able to misbehave and get away with it.

I foresee we will be buying rattan canes very soon in the near future. :mrgreen:

4 thoughts on “disciplining the boy

  1. shucks. I think I might be the mollycuddling type. 😛

    shell says: Huh? I think you’re pretty strict with your kids leh. You always let them know how they should behave, and you let them know your displeasure when they misbehave. That’s pretty alright by me.

  2. I think its good to be strict so that it will be easier to deal with him as he gets bigger. I have friends who gave their babies too much leeway and they ended up climbing over their heads even before they reached 2!

    shell says: Exactly. Babies are a lot smarter than we give them credit for. Better to start from young.

  3. People who dont discipline their kids deserve it when the kids scream at them in public, demand then throw tantrums for not getting the 1001th toy/ desired item, and etc etc etc.

Leave a Reply

