Wide Open Spaces.

Now that I’ve got a gaming console that requires me to move almost my entire body and swing my arms around like a maniac, I’m starting to really appreciate the idea of having more room.

I don’t really think I could jump insanely on a DDR mat while watching the screen when the screen is pretty much at belly level if I’m standing. I can’t stand further away from the TV either because there is no space behind me to back into.

This is really a bit of a head scratcher.

If we can’t shift to a place with a bigger living room, the only option I can think of is to get a flat screen TV so that there would be that few more inches of space between me and the screen.

But this TV ain’t broken and I don’t see a need to get a new one. 😦

Like I said, this is really a bit of a head scratcher.

::

Today I realise why I enjoy the idea of a bigger home with more rooms and a larger living area.

I could invite friends to my place and host parties: Wii gaming parties, chilling out with some wine, or just play cards/mahjong/etc. Up til now we’ve never really been able to host much at our place because we can barely squeeze in 5 adults.

Having a larger living room also means that we wouldn’t have to rack our brains over how to possibly rearrange furniture to make more room for the little ones to play in. Or where we are going to put that PC that would eventually come once our laptops start to slowly die out.

There are so many things I would love to have in my living room: more wall space to display posters and photos, racks for discs, a larger couch that sits at least 5 adults comfortably, coffee table, bookshelf, a cordoned play area for the kids… The list goes on and on! Let’s just say I’ve always had a vision of my dream home and it was (and still is) much roomier than the current space we have.

It would also be great to have more bedrooms, so if we changed our minds about getting domestic help, we would have to wonder where the hell she would sleep. Maids are humans too, and I always felt that they deserve to have an entire room to themselves for privacy reasons.

If there were more rooms, we also wouldn’t need to bust our brains about living arrangements for when Baby #2 comes around. To bunk in with korkor, or not? OMG, it is a headache.

I don’t like cramped. I really really don’t like cramped. Which was the whole reason why I took the wardrobe out of our bedroom. Because I couldn’t stand the idea of sleeping in a cramped room, or navigating amongst the clutter of bed, bedside tables and wardrobe.

Well, at least now we manage to put a small bookshelf in our room due to that little bit of space we squeezed out from making the entire other room into a wardrobe. We had no problems fitting a small crib and the electronic automated sarong into our room when Joshua came along, and we’ll still be able to do the same when #2 pops out.

Right now, I just have to learn to live with this smaller living space… until #2 is of childcare acceptable age and I go on to working full-time. Then will be the time to accumulate some capability of moving into the dream home I’ve always wanted.

It’s only another 2 years! Then the timing will be just right as our “bond” with the govt ends, and we can decide if we want to sell or rent out this place and move on up to a bigger one. 🙂

I’m looking forward to that. A bigger space for everyone to frolic in.

One thought on “Wide Open Spaces.

  1. Happy Birthday to youuuuuu!!

    Believe me, no matter how much space you have, you will never have enough!

    Congrats on the pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

