Seriously, I am concerned.

Ever since I found out I was pregnant with Joshua, I’ve subscribed myself to BabyCenter‘s weekly newsletters. And for the past few months, I’ve been growing increasingly concerned over Joshua’s toddler behaviour. Albeit probably being somewhat paranoid and oversensitive, here’s a list of the things that worry me.

Toddlers are somehow supposed to:

  • whine a fair bit

Joshua never does that for more than 2 minutes, because it doesn’t take long for us to establish what it is that he wants. Otherwise if he is whining for no reason, I will simply tell him to go away because his noise irritates me, and ignore him until he can “say” what he wants.

  • reject the idea of sleep by fussing or stalling bedtime

We hardly have an issue getting him into bed. Yes, he does still sneak out of bed once in a while, but as long as he happily gives a goodnight kiss, it means he’s willing to comply with going to sleep. Never does he stall, nor scream.

  • have separation issues

While he did have a couple of weeks when he would scream bloody murder when someone goes out, it oddly stopped one day after we’ve been repeatedly telling him that “[insert person’s name here] will be back soon”.

  • reject the idea of going “potty”

Josh doesn’t have a problem with sitting still on the potty, nor the idea of going bare-assed without diaper, he only has a problem with specific instructions on where to pee.

  • unable to sit still and behave appropriately in a restaurant

We’ve pretty much never had this problem with Joshua, and we put it down to the glutton that he is.

  • generally defiant behaviour

I don’t know why we’ve never had this issue. Maybe cos… I rule with an iron fist? 😕

Don’t take this the wrong way here, I’m not trying to show off or anything. Seriously, I am concerned because he’s just not behaving appropriately like how other toddlers are. I always hear about monstrous toddlers (it’s the Terrible Twos, remember?) but my son is so… angelically obedient that it’s somewhat… weird.

As much as I would like to believe that he is well-behaved because I have spent the last 21 months of my life teaching him well, I really do sometimes worry that he is more “abnormal” than he is obedient.

He’s not shy, he doesn’t throw tantrums, he hardly ever defies the adults.

Ok fine. I’m being paranoid.

2 thoughts on “Seriously, I am concerned.

  1. Excellent job babe.. thats a sign of a self confident self assured child. 🙂

    shell says: Really? Cos… I’m only doing what I think is best for him, so on and off I still get these feelings that I may somehow be doing something wrong that’s making him… different from other kids his age.

  2. the grass is always greener on the other side, be happy and thankful that he isn’t a clingy whiner, some children are just born with old souls 🙂

    shell says: I am thankful. Just sometimes… I get unfounded worries. 🙂 Like, is it even “normal” to behave nothing like other kids his age?? U know what I mean?

Leave a Reply

