Prenatal Checkup: 31 weeks

Pregnancy Weight

I weighed in at 80.7kg – a full 3kg gain. I have never been so happy to put on weight! πŸ˜†

I must say Doc wasn’t very happy about my weight increase, because she would prefer my total pregnancy weight gain to be under 12kg. But my blood sugar test came in normal, so it abolished Doc’s suspicions about high sugar levels causing the 3kg gain over the last 4 weeks.

If we take my pre-pregnancy weight at 73kg – which I confirm to be accurate because I was weighing myself daily back then – it would mean I have put on a total of 7kg by now, leaving me with only 5kg to go before I exceed the Doc’s recommendation.

But you know what? I don’t care. It’s not like I’m gorging myself on food or snacking on junk lor. If I put on weight, it’ll pretty much be au naturel and not a result of bad eating habits whatsoever.

(Speaking of which, the 2 pints of Haagen Dazs we bought more than 2 weeks ago is still unfinished and sitting in the freezer. I should give Joshua more of it to eat before both pints turn into icicles.)

Baby’s Growth

So this is the part where Doc stopped tsk-ing me about the 3kg gain…

Keegan measured in at 33 weeks 4 days for both his tummy diameter and head circumference. His femur length came in at 32 weeks 5 days. His weight: a massive 2009 grams (aka 2kg)!! This means that out of the 3kg I gained, 1kg is PURE BABY WEIGHT because he had weighed 1033 grams at the last checkup.

Obviously this boy is growing faster (and bigger) than he should be, seeing how a 31-week foetus should only be around an average of 1.5kg. 30% extra is a lot on a tiny baby!

Baby’s Foetal Position

The boy is currently in a breech position – with his active feet causing discomfort at my nether regions – but there is still plenty of time for him to literally turn things around. 6 more weeks, in fact.

Once again there was some concern from the doc regarding a natural birth – more so because Keegan hasn’t positioned himself properly yet – but I am not fazed by the negative possibilities. Why should I be anyway, since there’s nothing I can actively do about it? I’ll just continue to pray for what I hope to receive, and leave everything in the hands of God. I’m sure He’ll grant me whatever it is that He deems fit for us.

With that said, we’ll still greatly appreciate prayers for Keegan to turn around in preparation for birth, as well as for the safety and health of both mother and child during natural delivery.

Thanks in advance! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

