Fully aware!

It’s been about 2 months since the last update on potty training and Joshua is at least 95% pee-trained. He still has an average of 1 accident every fortnight, but all in all, I’m very pleased with his performance. 🙂

Yesterday I went to relieve myself, and Joshua came to me while I was sitting on the toilet to express his need to pee. He tried to fight for the toilet with me, but I was using it, so I asked him to go pee in the bathroom. (Once again, the downside of having only one loo at home…)

We have yet to let Joshua try to pee into the toilet, but I have a feeling we will be starting soon. His loo-phobia has greatly diminished and he is no longer fearful of toilets flushing. In fact, during one of our recent shopping trips, he accompanied me into the loo and stayed totally calm while I peed and the other cubicles were being flushed like crazy.

He even reminded me to wash my hands when I was done.

While he still wears pull-up pants when we go out on long trips, he never fails to let me know that he needs to pee – to which I will remind him that he’s wearing a diaper, and then we’ll try to find a quieter corner so that he may pee in peace (and without personal embarrassment).

He still wears regular diapers when he sleeps, although there were a couple of times when he requested to nap without them. So far we’ve tried that with no accidents, but I don’t think he enjoys needing to drag his sleepy ass out of bed to pee… That’s probably why he has been requesting to be diapered again for naptime!

Hopefully the next potty training update will be about how he can go pee in a public loo, or that he is poop-trained.

Leave a Reply

