And the door opened…

Just a couple nights ago, Hubs and I were talking about how to recognise an opportunity when it presents itself. We’ve agreed that most opportunities don’t present themselves blatantly and beg you to take them, they’re usually subtle hints that attempt to nudge you onto the right path in life but often fail seeing how most of us are thick in the head.

Hubs then proudly proclaimed that in order to avoid scenarios as such, what he does is to pray (yes you read me right) for clear signs; for God to open the doors that he should walk through and close the ones that he shouldn’t. “Make it obvious, Lord, for I am thick in the head”, he reiterated to me.

So I said my prayer aloud, in like fashion as he does, and asked for obvious signs for the roads I should take. Knowing myself, I would be able to detect subtle hints (spiritual ones or otherwise), but sometimes choose to ignore them because of my narrow-mindedness and/or unwillingness to change.

Then today, the strangest thing happened.

I was approached with a very decent job offer. When I wasn’t looking for any – consciously or subconsciously – and when I never expected something like this to happen. I mean, it almost feels as though I was head-hunted, just that it was an offer direct from the company and not from a headhunter. And by all counts, I haven’t been working full-time for more than four years now, so it was certainly the last thing I’d expect to happen!

So here goes, a clear path for me to walk onto; an evident route for me to take, even when it wasn’t exactly what I had hoped for when I said my prayer.

Sometimes, Lord, You amaze me with the things You do (and the speed at which You do it)! Please continue to make my weight loss efforts fruitful, and grant me with wisdom and patience to prosper in all that You have planned for me. Amen.

 

3 thoughts on “And the door opened…

  1. Hi Shelly,
    I really envy u being able to do work from home and look after your kids as well. They are really sweet little boys. And U are doing such a good job. Wish I was at least half like u.
    I wonder what kinda jobs can one do from home ? I have been looking out for some and I am kinda lost.
    I have two little ones myself and a home job will be great for me if I could find one. Any suggestions???
    Oh have a MERRY XMAS !!!!!

  2. That is a great Christmas present, Shelly! I hope from now on, you will be happy in all aspects & never need to worry about finances again. 🙂

    shell says: Never thought of it as a X’mas present, but yeah, it IS a good present! 😀 Right now just have to settle on someone to care for Kee first because he can’t get into Josh’s childcare until he turns 18 mths old on 17th Feb. Hopefully will be blessed in this too, and will be able to sort it out.

Leave a Reply

