The Great Geek Debate

So I want a lightweight portable computer device… The fight is between a MacBook Air, HTC Flyer and Asus Eee Pad Transformer (stupid name).

The iPad has been ultra failz in terms of work. It has, however, proved to be a fun device for play thanks to the various apps available only for iOS. Plenty of educational apps for the kids, and some stupid ones for me (like Smurfs and Coin Dozer). The iPad version of Evernote does not support Rich Text, which gives me a major headache as it is imperative for me to bold/underline headlines in proposals and my other forms of typing. My iPad 1 also has no camera function for enhanced note-taking – particularly useful now for my preparation of the new home.

I’m sorry I ever wanted you, iPad. Cos you really suck bad in terms of multi-functionality. You’re only good as a Flash-less plaything. And even then, you don’t load desktop version of Facebook very well, lagging way too often when trying to display notifications. I do thank you, however, for educating my children in animal sounds, Chinese words, and the likes.

Ok, through the course of this “debate” the MacBook Air has been struck out due to its hefty price tag. No, a MacBook won’t do because it’s heavy and I’m looking for portability. Under 1kg would be fabulous, thank you very much.

The fight is tough, as detailed below:

HTC Flyer Asus Transformer
Price $899 $799 (with dock)
Hardware Keyboard No Yes
Writing Capability Yes No
Full-functioned? No Supposedly Yes
Screen size 7″ 10.1″
HDMI No Yes
Weight 420 g 680 g
Front Camera 1.3 mpx 1.2 mpx
Rear Camera 5 mpx autofocus 5 mpx
Flash supported? Yes Yes

However, further research on the Asus Eee Pad Transformer revealed that the optional dock (also the hardware keyboard part of it) weighs 4lbs (1.8kg) which totals the weight to a hefty 2.4kg. Heavier than a Macbook Air, which is only 1.32kg! This pretty much defeats the portability function, considering I don’t have the strongest shoulders.

If only the HTC Flyer was a tad cheaper at $600+, this debate would be a no-brainer. Alas, it is going for $899 as a GSS promotion at the PC show, usually priced at $1098 (which I suspect no retailers would actually sell it at).

But you know what? After all this talk, I realise I could actually get both the Asus Eee Pad and the HTC Flyer for the price of a MacBook Air… with change to spare for accessories!! 😆 That aside, seems like we have a clear winner (pricing aside). Thank you for reading my thinking aloud! 😆

Leave a Reply

