A bottle carrier for my baby…

I finally got round to making a water bottle carrier for Lisa… It was not particularly easy considering:
(a) it’s small size – around the circumference of a regular soda can,
(b) the insulated material I had so cleverly wanted to include as a lining despite not having any prior experience with.

Also, the insulated material refused to feed through my machine, so almost 90% of the project was done by hand; powering the machine by manually turning the wheel instead of simply stepping on the foot pedal to start sewing. I had to get one of the kids to press down on the reverse lever on my machine each time I wanted to backstitch because I had to “force feed” the fabric through while turning the wheel – aka no more hands to press the reverse lever. 😆

If I have to make this again, I will make sure her bottle has been “upsized” to something more similar to the boys’ 700ml bottles. Bottle carriers are readily available in stores due to the size, but for Lisa, everything was too big and the straps were too thick and always cutting into her shoulders and neck. So thus, mama to the rescue with her lacklustre DIY skills. :mrgreen: Now she can finally go out for dinner with her bottle in a little bag without fighting to borrow one of the boys’ Ben 10 carriers.

Like I’ve said before… I don’t know WHEN I’d be able to start with sewing clothes when all I keep doing is making things (not clothes) for the kids and the house. 😐

Leave a Reply

